The long (face) and the shorts of it.

Hello!

Two blog posts in a week. I’m on FYAH! Today’s post is about some fancy pants shorts I made for my dear husband. I thought that these were the least I could do to thank him for putting up with me commandeering half the lounge with all my sewing contraptions and fabrics (we haven’t been able to have a dinner party for months) and also for taking all my blog photos. He is a colourful man who cycles a lot and so Ikea was the obvious choice for a hard wearing (furnishing) and cheery fabric! We got a corker, but it’s so corking I didn’t want to chop it up to make some shorts before I had practiced making some. So far the nearest thing to trousers/shorts/things to wear on the legs I have made are pyjamas and my plan was to make the super trendy and rather advanced Thread Theory Jedediahs. So I needed a practice. And lo! the rather stylish but extremely cheap navy blue linen blend something or other was used. I can’t remember where it was from, but it was a bargain. Maybe Regency Rags? God I love Regency Rags. Everything is so cheap, and good quality and comes so quickly.

Anyway……..

SHORTS

SHORTS

My husband is the least willing model ever. I’ve seen quite a few pictures of bloggers’ boyfriends and husbands modelling things made for them looking a bit uneasy or stiff. But THIS is the best I could do and I really think takes the biscuit….

Such sadness

Such sadness

The shorts are a bit scrumpled because he has been wearing them all the time and they are linen, so here are a couple of pictures of them on a less unwilling model: a clothes hanger.

wpid-img_20150310_221136.jpg wpid-img_20150310_221228.jpg

I learnt SO MUCH in making these and though my top stitching is a little wobbly to say the least (excellent choice to use white thread on navy for my first attempt at decorative top stitching. So visible!) and I put the button hole in vertically instead of horizontally, but apart from that, I think they are pretty triumphant. I’m thrilled with them. I learnt how to make a proper waistband, bind my seams, do a zip fly, do top stitching, flat fell seams and make proper slash pockets. And they have a cute contrast pocket bag. Look!

So pretty

So pretty

I found the pattern instructions in the booklet a bit hard to follow. There aren’t that many diagrams and I am just not sure I liked the way things were explained. HOWEVER there is an absolutely awesome sewalong on the Thread Theory website. These instructions are brilliant, comprehensive, friendly, there’s loads of photos and even a video with Morgan being super shy and nervous which is really helpful to show how to do a zip fly which I was scared about until I did.

The pattern is also just COOL. The shorts are a very stylish shape and look awesome with the turn ups and bound seams. The opportunities for doing fancy top stitching on the pockets are endless though I like the off centre mountain ranges they give you a pattern for.

BUM

BUM

You wouldn’t believe it, but Robin is very happy with his shorts and I am assured they are very comfy for cycling in. They also haven’t fallen apart, which I am delighted about as Robin cycles a LOT. The Jedediahs are awesome, and I would urge anyone who knows a man of any kind to make some because they are so fun. I also wonder whether girls could wear them, because they actually have quite a feminine shape with room for thighs. Has anyone tried?? I really enjoyed all the little details and different activities and tasks in making them. I’m already looking forward to making the second jazzy pair, and as you can see, so is Robin, the little ray of sunshine that he is….

Such a natural. Really selling those shorts...

Such a natural. Really selling those shorts…

22 thoughts on “The long (face) and the shorts of it.

  1. Awesome shorts! I’ve already bought this pattern with an idea to sew shorts and/or pants for my husband. And my experience with sewing pants is exactly like yours (pyjama pants only), so thank you for this post and for showing that this project is really manageable!
    And yes, getting a husband to properly pose for pictures is sometimes more difficult than sewing something for him, ha šŸ˜€ Good job getting him to pose at all šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Ha, yes! I was quite happy with these ‘poses’: I couldn’t believe I even got that much! And yes, seriously, with the online sewalong, it’s really doable. They took me quite a long time, but I just took my time and enjoyed learning each new skill. Let me know how you get on šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. These look great and your topstitching is fine. Good job getting your husband to pose. I can’t even get anyone to take a photo of me for my blog. Instant huffs. I am really intrigued by the sound of your fancy IKEA fabric. They have some great designs. I have used fabric from there for lining corsets before and have some waiting to be a pencil skirt. Have you seen this website? http://www.ikeahackers.net xx

    Like

  3. The shorts look fantastic! And I love the photos of your husband, hilarious. The top stitching is quiet nice, and they’re a good length! I think this pattern could easily be adapted for women with a few small adjustments. My partner needs shorts but doesn’t like the short shorts that i would make for myself. I might give this pattern a go.

    Like

  4. Rosie, I have been considering making these for my hubby too! I am thinking of using ripstop cotton for them. Did you find them to be true to size? Like if your hubby usually wears a 36, did you make the 36? Robin looks like a little kid whose mom has made him pose for too many pictures! Great for laughs!! The shorts look great BTW, don’t be so critical of yourself or your top stitching! šŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Aw thanks! šŸ™‚ In terms of sizing, yes I do find them true to size, but in a really weird way. My husband is a 38 and the measurements said that he was a bit bigger than the Thread Theory 40 . I decided to take a risk as this was a muslin and just make the 40 without any alterations at all, and they are fine, but a bit on the loose side, so I think if I had made a 38 they would have fit well, even though his measurements didn’t seem to correspond! Hope that makes sense!

      Like

  5. Hi Rosie, loved the shorts and loved your dialogue to go with your husband’s lack of enthusiasm for picture-taking…it made me laugh out loud! I’m now inspired to give these shorts a try for my own hubby! Thank-you!

    Like

  6. LOLOLOL for days at your husband’s curmudgeon-y modeling!! I love that you tackled man pants (er, trousers, shorts, whatever–I always forget that we Yankees define “pants” very differently!) and were successful. I haven’t dared attempt anything like that for my hubs, mostly because I fear the fitting part; I also worry that he wouldn’t like them, but clearly you’ve sorted both of those things out. šŸ™‚ And I am sure your topstitching will go better on the next version–now you’ve done it and had some practice and are ready to take on ALL THE MAN SHORTS!!!!!

    (And seriously, your stitching on the inside of those front slash pockets is GORGEOUS.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

