Against real beauty

My first ever reblog and it’s a good one.

Stickler.

this gets pretty communist #sorrynotsorry this post gets pretty communist #sorrynotsorry

Here are some things I would like advertisers to stop doing:

  • Showing me a flawless 18-year-old butt in a $5 pair of panties and tell me its empowering because it’s not Photoshopped.
  •  Asking me to choose “beautiful” or “average” and then explain my choice.
  • Telling me what physical features “real women” do or do not have.
  • Showing me a picture of a woman who is radical only for being comfortable with herself and expect a gold star for progressive thinking.
  • Using the word “real” to sell me underwear or soap or goddamn douche.
There’s actually very little difference between a lingerie ad featuring the Victoria’s Secret angels and a body wash ad using pictures of some perfectly lit women who have cRaZy things like a little belly flab or freckles and yet dare to say they’re beautiful. Why? Because the link between aesthetics and value survives. (Nothing new under the…

View original post 456 more words

2 thoughts on “Against real beauty

  1. I watched the so called empowering video from Dove where women had to walk through the average or beautiful door and all I could think of was how angry it made me to be patronised by such crap. Get a f***ing grip Dove. Would anyone actually fall for that shit? To answer my own question, sadly people do. I for one am going to empower myself by buying something else. 😉 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

